A National Historic Landmark, the octagonal Longwood was designed by Philadelphia architect Samuel Sloan for Haller and Julia Nutt. Construction began in 1860, but was halted in 1861, by rising tensions over the Civil War. The exterior was largely complete, but the home's interior was left unfinished except for the lowest level. The Nutt family lived in this finely furnished basement until the 20th century. Visitors can tour the home, inspect the basement living areas and the unfinished upper floors, and walk the grounds where Julia Nutt once tended to her vegetable garden, orchards, and acres of roses. Tours are given every 30 minutes, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. A walking tour of the kitchen, privy, and the cemetery is available.